Power rallies for fourth in Indycar race

Australia’s Will Power has rallied from 18th to complete fourth as Mexico’s Pato O’Ward gained the Indycar race in Birmingham, Alabama, breaking Workforce Penske’s stanglehold on races this season.

O’Ward used a robust exterior move of pole-sitter Rinus VeeKay after each pitted for contemporary tyres to take the lead then drive away for the victory from defending collection champion Alev Palou of Spain and Dutchman VeeKay.

Former Supercars champion Scott McLaughlin then two-time winner American Josef Newgarden had claimed the primary three races of the season for the Penske outfit.

However at Barber Motorsports Park on Sunday, Power was the primary of the Penske drivers as he simply missed the rostrum, with McLaughlin ending sixth and Newgarden again in 14th.

Chip Gnassi racing’s Palou’s second inserting was sufficient to place him on high of the motive force standings with McLaughlin second, Newgarden third, Power fourth and O’Ward leaping from ninth to fifth.

There have been late-race fireworks between fellow Honda drivers Graham Rahal and Romain Grosjean as the 2 raced for place, and an irate Rahal screamed over his radio “that guys a punk! He hit me on purpose.”

An animated Rahal was seen after smacking his arm into Grosjean teammate Alexander Rossi to reveal Grosjean hitting Rahal’s automobile.

“We touched a couple of times, but it was good racing,” mentioned Grosjean, who denied hitting Rahal on goal. “No. No. No. It’s IndyCar, wheel-to-wheel action.”

IndyCar is off subsequent weekend and many of the drivers are headed to Miami for Formulation One’s debut race on Sunday.

The collection returns to motion Could 14 on the highway course at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. VeeKay is the defending race winner.

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.