Rugby: 14 Teams Confirm for Kenya’s Safari Sevens

Fourteen teams have confirmed participation in the Safari Sevens, which takes place on October 30 at Nyayo National Stadium in Nairobi, the Kenyan capital.

Ten teams have confirmed their participation in the men’s category for this year, while four have confirmed their participation in the women’s category.

Kenya will be represented by the Kenyan sevens team Shujaa, Kenya Morans, Kenya Under 20, and KCB.

There will also be participation from the 2018 champion Samurai, the South Africa Allstars, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Red Wailers, and Nigeria’s Stallion sevens.

“There are a total of 10 confirmations in the men’s competition thus far. They include South Africa All-Stars, Zimbabwe, Uganda, Samurai, Red Wailers, Stallion Sevens Nigeria, KCB, Kenya U20, Kenya Shujaa and Kenya Morans,” said Kenya Rugby Union.

The women’s tournament will be contested by Kenya Lionesses with two teams as well as South Africa Select and Zimbabwe.

“There are 4 confirmations in the women’s competition including Zimbabwe, South Africa Select as well as the two Kenya Lionesses squads. More confirmations and information around the tournament is expected in subsequent communications,” added the union..

Originally played in 1996, the Safari Sevens will return in 2021 after being postponed in 2020 as a result of Covid-19, which paralyzed sports worldwide.

The post Rugby: 14 Teams Confirm for Kenya’s Safari Sevens by Olorunwa Lawal appeared first on News Central TV | Latest Breaking News Across Africa, Daily News in Nigeria, South Africa, Ghana, Kenya and Egypt Today..

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *